Skip to content

Please reserve your timed tickets.

Past Event Sound Series: Battle Trance


The Warhol welcomes the genre-defying saxophone quartet Battle Trance (comprised of Travis Laplante, Matthew Nelson, Jeremy Viner, Patrick Breiner) on a tour supporting their debut release, Palace of Wind, on New Amsterdam Records. Performing primarily the music of member Travis Laplante, the quartet crosses boundaries and exists loosely within realms of contemporary classical music, avant-garde jazz, black metal, ambient, and world music, the new record challenges conventions of the saxophone as an ensemble instrument. The sonic vocabulary of the quartet has developed through techniques such as circular breathing, allowing them to build continuous, hypnotic waves of sound and intricate textures.

“[Laplante’s music] might change your life, indefinably.”

-­‐The Chicago Tribune

Co-presented with the Music on the Edge series of the University of Pittsburgh Department of Music

Additional Information

Please note that seating in our theater is first come, first-served. Doors open at 7:30pm. 

Sound Series

Sound Series is an ongoing concert series featuring internationally touring contemporary artists and bands from around the world. Learn more about our Sound Series.

Related Links

Battle Trance on facebook

Battle Trance Official Website